BFS
Apply Now

Welcome New Colleague, Martin Sanchez!

We asked new colleagues to answer a few questions to help us get to know them. Here we meet Martin Sanchez, who just joined the BFS Community as the Director of Human Resources. Read on to learn more about Martin. 
Where did you grow up?

I was born in Peru and arrived in the USA when I was 8 years old. I was then raised in Long Beach, New York through high school and then went off to college at the University at Albany. I received my law degree at the University at Buffalo School of Law.

Where were you/what were you doing before you came to BFS?

I was doing human resources consulting for the last couple of years; setting up HR programs at Golden Krust, Schweid & Sons, Wheelabrator Technologies and many others. My favorite prior job was as a legal advocate for Farm Workers in West Texas and Southern New Mexico.

Did you take up any new hobbies during the pandemic? What is your favorite quarantine activity?

I read lots of non-fiction books with a focus on the history of Latin America. I also cooked and watched a lot of Star Trek.

Why did you choose BFS as your place of employment?

My wife and son are teachers in independent schools so I figured I’d join the family business. Also, both of my sisters-in-law are educators and my father-in-law was a school principal.

Is there a moment that stands out as the most memorable and impactful since you came to BFS?

I have enjoyed supporting all colleagues with any HR issue. I enjoy the facetime with all staff; much of what I do is also being a social worker and a crisis manager especially in these times of COVID-19

If we were to interview a lower school version of you, how would you describe yourself? What were your earliest hobbies and dreams?

I arrived from Peru and was placed in 3rd grade and was the only non-English speaking student in my school. I was placed in special ed for a couple of years. Many good friends helped me along the way and always tried to help me improve my English. I excelled in sports, especially soccer, but it took a while to learn baseball. Eventually, I collected baseball cards. I also lived at the library because my mom worked two jobs and it was the best supervised place I could be to do my homework.

If we interviewed you again a year from now, what’s one thing you’d love to have accomplished here?

I want to get to know every colleague at BFS. Ensuring that I provide a level of support to all of them is my main goal.

What is your favorite book from childhood?

I read comic books – Condorcito, Mafalda, el Fantasma, and the sports pages (big soccer fan). I also read poetry by Gabriela Mistral.

Thank you, Martin! We are so glad that you are here! 

 

*In the above photo from 2019, Martin received an award from TUMI USA, a national Peruvian organization, for his 30 years of advocacy for immigrants in the US.